ANZAC Day Ceremonies

Fallen servicemen and women will be remembered in dawn and civic services around the Taupo District on Anzac Day. The main ceremony will be held at the cenotaph on Tongariro Domain in Taupo at dawn. Those involved in the dawn parade will depart the Taupo RSA on Horomatangi St at 5.50am. It will travel along Horomatangi, Ruapehu, Tamamutu and Tongariro streets before arriving at the cenotaph for the 6.15am service. This is a new route to accommodate for those with mobility issues as it avoids the speed bumps of Heuheu Street.

At 10.30am, a civic service and parade will be held. Mayor David Trewavas is scheduled to take part in the service and to make a short speech.

The following roads will be closed on Friday, 25 April 2014 from 5.30am to 8am and again from 9.30am to 12pm:  Tongariro Street between Spa Road and Lake Terrace and Horomatangi Street between Ruapehu and Titiraupenga Streets.

All ex-servicemen and women as well as other interested parties can take part in the parade. Those who want to join in can assemble outside the Taupo Bowling Club on Lake Terrace at 10.15am, ready to march to the cenotaph outside the Great Lake Centre.

In Mangakino, a civic service will be held at 10.15am at the RSA Cemetery on Lake Road. That will be followed at 11am by a service at the cenotaph in the grounds of the Mangakino District Services and Citizens Club on Wairenga Road.

In the southern settlements, a dawn service will be held at Waihi Marae at 5.45am. It will be followed later by a parade at the Turangi Services Cemetery on Aonini Road, Turangi at 10am. At 10.50am there will be a march from Turangi town centre to Tokaanu-Turangi and Districts Memorial RSA clubrooms, Katopu Place, Turangi, where a civic service will be held.



Page reviewed: 31 May 2017 11:03am