Representation review

Every six years we are required to review how our communities are represented on the Council.

Before we start the process, we want to give people the opportunity to share their views, about what they think will give them fair and effective representation.

At present we have a Mayor who is elected at large from all voters across the Taupo District and 10 councillors elected in three di­fferent wards:

­ One councillor is elected from the Mangakino-Pouakani ward; Two councillors are elected from the Turangi-Tongariro ward; and Seven councillors elected from the Taupo-Kaingaroa ward.

We also have the Turangi-Tongariro Community Board, which represents the interest of the southern lakes area. It has a membership of eight made up of six elected community board representatives and two district councillors.

You can find out more about the process and potential options and have your say here​.

Once we have received feedback from the community the Council will decide on an initial proposal for more formal consultation.

4 April 2018

Page reviewed: 04 Apr 2018 9:28am