Kaupapa Maori

​Nau mai, Haere mai, ki te kaunihera-ā-rohe o Taupō / Welcome to the Taupō District Council.

Welcome.  Within the boundaries of the Taupō District is the ancestral home to four iwi (tribes); Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Tahu / Ngāti Whaoa and Raukawa. Each iwi has associated hapu or sub-tribes.

These ‘tangata whenua’ groupings play a vital role as kaitiaki (guardians) of natural resources, cultural sites of significance and waahi tapu. ​Hapu and iwi are connected to the whenua (land) through occupation and whakapapa (genealogy).

The four main iwi hold mana whenua status for different parts of the Taupō District's land area and beyond. A branch of Ngāti Kahungunu from the Wairarapa also now resides on part of the Pouakani lands in the northern reaches of the district. All iwi help guide Taupō District Council with issues pertaining to their whenua tupuna (ancestral lands).

Taupō District Council contact

Mr Dominic Bowden (Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Raukawa ki te tonga)
Strategic Relationships Manager
Taupō District Council

Section 35A(2)(b) of the Resource Management Act 1991 (RMA) requires each local authority to include in its records all the information provided to it by the Crown on:

  • The contact details of each iwi authority within the region or district of that local authority and areas over which one or more iwi exercise kaitiakitanga within that region or district; and

  • Any groups that represent hapū for the purposes of the RMA and the areas over which one or more hapū exercise kaitiakitanga within the region or district of that local authority.

Te Kā hui Māngai: is the means by which the Crown fulfils the requirements of section 35A(2) of the RMA in terms of the information the Crown must provide to local authorities. Therefore each local authority, at a minimum, must include this information in its records. This information is available by visiting Te Kahui Mangai.

Useful links

Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board

Mountains.  The Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board (the Board) is a body legislated to administer Ngāti Tūwharetoa assets handed down from our Tūpuna for the benefit of present and future generations of Ngāti Tūwharetoa.

Tūwharetoa Settlement Trust 

Tuwharetoa Settlement Trust logo.  The Tūwharetoa Settlement Trust was established to receive, hold, manage and administer Ngāti Tūwharetoa’s share, and interest in the CNI Forests Collective Settlement.

Tauhara Geothermal Charitable Trust

Tauhara Geothermal Charitable TrustThe Tauhara Geothermal Charitable Trust was established in 2011 as a requirement of the resource consents for Contact Energy Ltd.’s Tauhara II Geothermal Project. ​

Ngāti Tūwharetoa​

Directory.  The Ngati Tuwharetoa tribal territory is in the central North Island, around the Lake Taupo water catchment area. ​

​Ngāti Tahu / Ngāti Whaoa

Te Puni Kokiri.  This rohe of Ngāti Tahu / Ngāti Whaoa extends into Atiamuri, Rotomahana, Kaingaroa and Wairapukao.

Ngāti Tahu-Ngati Whaoa ​

Te Arawa River logo.  Ngati Tahu-Ngati Whaoa through Ngati Tahu-Ngati Whaoa Runanga Trust are one of three Te Arawa river Iwi that are represented through Te Arawa River Iwi Trust.

The Wairakei Charitable Trust

Wairakei Trust logo.  Wairakei Charitable Trust was formed to recognise and promote the partnership between Nga Hapu and Contact Energy Ltd.

The Trust Deed was formalised and signed on May 1 2007.


Page reviewed: 11 Jan 2018 11:55am